University of Central Asia and Stockholm School of Economics in Riga Sign Agreement of Cooperation

Date: 15 February 2018
Other languages: Русский язык |
The University of Central Asia (UCA) and the Stockholm School of Economics in Riga (SSE Riga) signed a memorandum of understanding on February 14th 2018 in Riga, Latvia. The intended areas of cooperation include development of curriculum for UCA’s undergraduate programme in Economics, faculty and student exchanges as well as research cooperation.

Anders Rydin, Chairman of the SSE Riga Foundation and Dr. Shamsh Kassim-Lakha (R), Chairman of the Board of Trustees of UCA signing the Agreement. Standing from L to R: Alisha Rajani, Deputy Director HR, at UCA, Dr. Anders Paalzow, President and Rector of SSE Riga, and Dr. Diana Pauna, Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences at UCA.
At the signing, Anders Rydin, Chairman of the SSE Riga Foundation, remarked “since 1994 when SSE Riga was established, it has undergone a few important steps in its development, and is now ready to share this experience and expand into Central Asia with this partnership”. 

UCA is delighted to be entering into a formal partnership with SSE Riga, which is based in a country similar in size to some of the Central Asian countries we are operating in. We look forward to benefitting from their know-how in promoting the Small and Medium Enterprise economy and fostering an “entrepreneurial mindset” in our students, said Dr. Shamsh Kassim-Lakha, Chairman of the Board of Trustees of UCA. 

The SSE Riga experience is fostering an “entrepreneurial mindset” among its students, which is evident in the success of its graduates and will provide important opportunities for teaching and learning at UCA”, said Dr. Diana Pauna, Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences at UCA and former Pro-Rector of SSE Riga.

Commenting on the Agreement, Dr. Anders Paalzow, President and Rector of SSE Riga, said “I am looking forward to the transfer of knowledge, and learning about an interesting region that is too often forgotten by many in Europe. It is also a good way for us to re-think our teaching and learning, and pursue research opportunities in Central Asia”.

About the Partner Universities

Stockholm School of Economics in Riga 
The Stockholm School of Economics in Riga (SSE Riga) is a business school in Riga, Latvia with close ties with its mother-school in Sweden (SSE in Stockholm). The mission of SSE Riga has been, since its inception in 1994, to provide a state-of-the-art education in business and economics that contributes to the economic and social development of the region, in particular Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. SSE Riga has built a strong reputation for offering the highest-quality business education among employers and applicants in the Baltics. SSE Riga offers two programmes: The three-year BSc in Economics and Business, and the two-year Executive MBA programme. Both programmes are taught in English. SSE Riga students come from Latvia, Lithuania, and Estonia as well as from Belarus, Russia, Georgia, Ukraine, Moldova and other countries. In addition to the degree programmes, the school offers a number of Executive Education programmes including open and in-house programmes.

University of Central Asia
The University of Central Asia (UCA) was founded in 2000 as a private, not for profit, secular university through an International Treaty signed by the Presidents of the Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, and Kazakhstan, and His Highness the Aga Khan; ratified by their respective parliaments, and registered with the United Nations. The Presidents are the Patrons of the University and His Highness is the Chancellor. UCA’s mission is to promote the social and economic development of Central Asia, particularly its mountain communities, by offering an internationally recognised standard of higher education, and enabling the peoples of the region to preserve their rich cultural heritage as assets for the future. UCA brings with it the broader commitment and partnership of the Aga Khan Development Network. UCA includes the Undergraduate School of Arts and Sciences, the Graduate School of Development, the School of Professional and Continuing Education, the Institute of Public Policy and Administration, the Mountain Societies Research Institute, the Cultural Heritage and Humanities Unit, the Central Asian Faculty Development Programme, and the Aga Khan Humanities Project. UCA’s undergraduate programmes are located at its residential campuses in Naryn, Kyrgyz Republic, and Khorog, Tajikistan. The Tekeli campus in Kazakhstan is expected to start classes in 2021.
This website uses cookies
Cookies are small text files held on your computer. They allow us to give you the best browsing experience possible and mean we can understand how you use our site.
Some cookies have already been set. You can delete and block cookies but parts of our site won't work without them.
By using our website you accept our use of cookies.
No, I want to find out more Yes, I agree