Higher Education Forum Visits Central Asia

Date: 20 May 2019
Other languages: Русский язык |
Members of the Aga Khan Development Network’s (AKDN) Higher Education Forum (HEF) visited Tajikistan from May 12-16, and some members also travelled to Kyrgyzstan on May 17-18. This was the first official visit by the HEF to Central Asia, whose membership comprises senior officers of AKDN. The main objective of their visit was to better understand the regional landscape within which AKDN and UCA operate.

Robin Higgins (right in photo), briefing some members of the Higher Education Forum at the Khorog campus. L to R: Farzana Karim-Haji, Carl Amrhein, Firoz Rasul.
During their visit to Tajikistan, members toured UCA’s Khorog campus, met with students, faculty and staff, received presentations on undergraduate and co-curricular activities, and familiarised themselves with UCA’s research institutes. Visits to other AKDN programmes in Khorog included the Aga Khan Lycée, Khorog Medical Centre, Ismaili Centre and Jamat Khana, and Khorog Park. A meeting with the faculty and Rector at Khorog State University (KSU) was also arranged on May 14th, during which the HEF received presentations and discussed possible areas of collaboration.

HEF members include David Fraser, Convener of the AKDN Higher Education Forum; Paul Dhalla, Head of Research at AKDN; Firoz Rasul, President of the Aga Khan University (AKU); Farzana Karim-Haji, Director of the University Partnerships Office at AKU; Carl Amrhein, Provost of AKU; Azim Nanji, Special Advisor to the Provost at AKU; Leif Stenberg, Director of AKU’s Institute for the Study of Muslim Civilisations; Nimet Rener, Director, Aga Khan Education Services; Salim Bhatia, Director of Aga Khan Academies; Shams Vellani, Co-Director’s Office at the Institute of Ismaili Studies (IIS); Farhad Daftary, Co-Director and Head of Department of Academic Research and Publications at IIS; Michael Kocher, General Manager of the Aga Khan Foundation; Luis Monreal, General Manager of the Aga Khan Trust for Culture (AKTC); Raj Isar, Education Director at AKTC; Dr. Shamsh Kassim-Lakha, Chairman of the Board of Trustees of UCA; Prof. Dr. S. Sohail. H. Naqvi, Rector of UCA; Diana Pauna, Dean of UCA’s School of Arts and Sciences; and Dr. Bohdan Krawchenko, Dean of UCA’s Graduate School of Development.
This website uses cookies
Cookies are small text files held on your computer. They allow us to give you the best browsing experience possible and mean we can understand how you use our site.
Some cookies have already been set. You can delete and block cookies but parts of our site won't work without them.
By using our website you accept our use of cookies.
No, I want to find out more Yes, I agree