The Playful Eye Goes to Kyrgyzstan: A Mindful Art Experience

Date: 26 August 2020
Other languages: Русский язык |
The University of Central Asia is pleased to invite you to an adventurous exploration of art and self, combining elements of play, mindfulness and embodied practice. It is being organised in collaboration with the Gapar Aitiev Kyrgyz National Museum of Fine Arts, UCA's School of Arts and Sciences Communications and Media department, and the Cultural Heritage and Humanities Unit of UCA.

About this Event
Join us on Zoom at Kyrgyzstan’s premier national art museum to discover traditional and modern Kyrgyz art through guided practices encouraging imagination, mindfulness, contemplation and embodied play. During this one-hour interactive session, you will explore three artworks from the collection through experimental engagement practices.

Playful Eye events have been held at some of the world’s leading public and private art museums, including the Smithsonian’s National Museum of Asian Art in Washington DC, the Olbricht Foundation’s Collectors’ Room in Berlin, the National Gallery of Australia, and the Queensland Art Gallery and Gallery of Modern Art. This will be the first Playful Eye event in Central Asia.

Registration
To register and receive the Zoom link, visit: https://bit.ly/PlayfulEye


Date and Time
The session will be held on Wednesday, August 26th 2020 at:
9-10am New York, 2-3pm London, 3-4pm Berlin, 6:30-7:30pm Mumbai, 6-7pm Dushanbe, 7-8pm Bishkek/Almaty, 9-10pm Hong Hong, 11-12pm Sydney.

Language
The event will be conducted in English.

The Playful Eye Facilitators

Michael Garbutt, PhD, teaches in the Faculty of Art & Design, at the University of New South Wales, Sydney. His research interests include the phenomenology of aesthetic experience and art museum visitation.

Nico Roenpagel, PhD, brings compassion-based mindfulness training to companies in Berlin, where he is a co-founder of Wevolve, a specialist provider of mindfulness-based leadership. He is also the co-founder of the Mindful Leadership Circle, a non-profit with a mission to bring mindfulness and compassion into organizations, society and self.
This website uses cookies
Cookies are small text files held on your computer. They allow us to give you the best browsing experience possible and mean we can understand how you use our site.
Some cookies have already been set. You can delete and block cookies but parts of our site won't work without them.
By using our website you accept our use of cookies.
Yes, I agree No, I want to find out more